Past to Present – 2018


On this album, you’ll find fresh takes on five songs that The Sound recorded throughout the 1980’s and 1990’s.



Track Listing

1. God’s Bigger Than That
2. Can’t Think Of A Better Way
3. Here Comes The Bride
4. The Walls Of Jericho
5. He Is Able
6. We Shall Reign
7. I Turn To Him
8. Good News
9. He Is Faithful To Me
10. I’m Going To Heaven

When we took on the name “The Sound”, we knew we had some big shoes to fill. The Sound has had quite a history in southern gospel music. It’s former members include southern gospel favorites like Pat Hoffmaster (The Blackwood Brothers), Scott Fowler (Legacy 5, The Cathedrals), Jeff Chapman (The Kingdom Heirs), Rick Strickland (The Singing Americans, J.D. Summer and the Stamps), Frank Seamens (Legacy 5), Terry Davis (The Florida Boys) and Mike Presnell (Perfect Heart). The Sound recorded a landmark album, The World Needs To Hear, in 1986; it was produced by the late Larry Goss. Rob Mills sang lead for The Sound from 1990-1992.

When Rob acquired the group name in 2017, it seemed only fitting that he pay tribute to the rich history that came along with it. This album is titled “Past To Present” to honor those who came before us, but also to establish what we have to say in today’s day and age.

It also contains five songs that Rob has either written or co-written throughout his life. Everything you’re about to hear is original to The Sound. We are honored to carry on the tradition of great music and great ministry that is unique to our name. Thank you to everyone involved in the making of Past to Present. Thank you to every member of The Sound, past to present. Thank you to everyone who loved and supported us as the Rob Mills Family. We look forward to sharing this next chapter in The Sound’s history with all of you.